The Australasian Radiation Protection Society Inc (ARPS) is a professional society of members engaged in one or more aspects of radiation protection.


Kent Gregory's picture

A Tribute to David Paix

MSc, FAIP, FARPS, MACPSEM, MInstP(UK)  
02 April 1936 – 09 Sept 2013

It is very sad to report that the fields of medical radiation physics and radiation protection in Australia have lost one of their well-known, well-respected and well-loved characters, David Paix, who died after a very long illness on 09 September, 2013.


Kent Gregory's picture

IRPA Regional Congress, Africa, 2014

 Dear IRPA colleagues

I am pleased to inform you on that the fourth regional congress of International radiation Protection AFRIRPA04 will take place at Rabat in Morocco on 13-17 September 2014. The AFRIRPA04 Chairman is Pr. Abdelmajid CHOUKRI (choukrimajid@yahoo.com)

Kent Gregory's picture

Survey regarding 10 μSv criterion

 A member of IRPA (from Italy) is surveying radiation protection professionals on the use and interpretation of the '10 μSv criterion'.  You can read about the  '10 μSv criterion' and complete the online survey at....

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1xtu2NkzJZg4pd4R6i_aJ3uMNt2iv-3D8phoXlZwyItw/viewform

Cameron Jeffries's picture

19th Pacific Basin Nuclear Conference

24 Aug 2014
28 Aug 2014
Canada/Pacific

The Canadian Nuclear Society and the Canadian Nuclear Association are proud to host the 19th Pacific Basin Nuclear Conference (PBNC-2014) in Vancouver, Canada, under the aegis of the Pacific Nuclear Council.

Ron Rubendra's picture

Airport X-ray body scanners cancer risk too high?

An interesting view from an air traveler in the US and  his views on airport x-ray scanners. 

My view on this is the author is articulate and engaged but not has not been convinced that the risk of cancer being induced from the airport x-ray machine is negligible. Is this a a communication's problem from the people who made it and use it? Is this a case of (newspaper) hype overcoming reason in general? You know the 'all radiation is bad' school of thought.  Risk communication is my take on this. The author drives or gets a bus or taxi to the airport - I would have thought the risk of injury from a transport accident would be higher that the risk of him contracting cancer from an airport x-ray machine.  

ARPS

Minerals Council of Australia
Level 8, 10-16 Queen Street
Melbourne Vic 3000
Contact: Daniel Zavattiero
Tel: +61 8 8614 1813
Email: daniel.zavattiero@minerals.org.au




Radiation Health - Qld Health
Level 3, 15 Butterfield Street
Herston Qld 4006
Contact: Ellinor Edholm
Tel: +61 7 3328 9209
email:     radiation_health@health.qld.gov.au




Cybermynd Pty Ltd (Historion)
6 Glenwood Close
Donvale  Vic  3111
Contact:  Rob Brown
Tel:  +61 3 9876 0323, Mob 0414 777 477
Email: rbrown@cybermynd.com.au

Tracerco Ltd
2 Harris Road, Malaga WA 6090
Contact: Barry Lewington
Tel: +61 8 9209 3905
Email: barry.lewington@tracerco.com
Web: www.tracerco.com

 
 

Institute of Environmental Science & Research Ltd
Christchurch Science Centre
27 Creyke Road, Christchurch, New Zealand 8041
Contact: Dr Sophie Walker
Tel: +64 3 351 6019
Email: ncrs@esr.cri.nz

 

Nucletron Pty Ltd
1B Little Commodore Street
Newtown NSW 2042
Contact: Peter Douglas
Tel: +61 2 9517 1300
Email: peter.douglas@nucletron.com

Charles Sturt University
Office of Academic Governance
Panorama Avenue, Bathurst NSW  2795
Contact: Aimee Wall
Email: aiwall@csu.edu.au

Landauer Australasia Pty Ltd
Level 3, 69 Phillip Street
Parramatta NSW 2119
Contact: David Rundell
Tel: +61 2 8651 4000
Email: d.rundell@landauer.com.au

Two Mavericks R&D Pty Ltd
Level 1, 20 Queen Street
Melbourne Vic 3000
Contact: Dr Iwan Cornelius
Tel: +61 3 9028 2673, Mob. 0481 371 541
Email: info@2mrd.com.au

Radiation Safety Services Pty Ltd
PO Box 9117, Slade Point Qld 4740
Contact: Ms Sim Badger
Tel: +61 7 4955 5944
Email: sim@radiationsafety.com.au
Victoria office: bmcallion@radiationsafety.com.au
WA office: office@radiationsafety.com.au, Tel: +61 8 9475 0099

InMed Pty Ltd
46 Prime Drive, Seven Hills NSW 2147
Contact: Jeff Gibson
Tel: +61 2 8814 5488
Email: jeff.gibson@inmed.com.au
Website: http://www.inmed.com.au

Radtronics Pty Ltd
PO Box 1558, Cleveland Qld 4163
Contact: Kenneth Furphy
Tel: +61 7 3286 9204, Mob. 0418 771 616
Email: kfurphy@radtronics.com.au